OpenRice Index
  
vennomz
This is vennomz living in Bukit Panjang. I work in Buona Vista. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love and Pasta, Ramen.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review15 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity782 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos25 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
vennomz  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 15 Reviews in Singapore
Succulent Prawn Noodles Smile Jan 14, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
Within Zion Road Hawker Centre lies an array of delicious cuisines waiting to be discovered by the curious diner. One of them is the Noo Cheng Adam Road Prawn Mee. The prawns served are big and juicy with a soup that is clear and extremely savoury. The soup does not contain any trace of MSG and hungry diners can get their soup refilled at no extra costs! My sole wish is that hopefully the prawns can be peeled of entirely so that the diner does not have to use their hands or otherwise to remove the prawn shells. I personally feel that the clear bee hoon goes best with the soup instead of yellow noodles which very often gives it a flour-like taste.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  prawn mee,prawn noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jan 04, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delightful Beer & Sausages Smile Jan 14, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | Bars/Lounges

 
It was a gathering for my friends at the long awaited Brozeit restaurant on a Friday evening. No I wasn't impressed by the waiting time of more than 50 mins. The staff could have at least put us on a waiting list and called us back should there be any vacancies available. We ordered a few pint of beers and there just your typical commercial beer so I shall not review about it.

 
What I can comment about however is their grilled pork sausage set ($17.00 ++). The mash potato tasted rich and creamy without ruining any balance in its texture. The pork sausages themselves are some of the best Ive tasted in this country. It was firm, sweet and not rubbery like other sausages served at other restaurants. I could not appreciate the sauerkraut though even though its supposed to whip up my appetite.

Overall the food was above average. The service however could be further improved. Long waiting times plus staff members who occasionally ignored us did not help to improve our overall dining experience. Quite a good place for group gathering/dining.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  grilled pork sausages
 
Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yummy Ice Cream Smile Jan 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Ice Cream and Gelato

Ice Cream Assortment

Ice Cream Assortment

 
Haagen Dazs serves one of the best fruity ice creams to me and yet I decided to give the rest of their flavours a taste test after a heavy meal on a Saturday. The Caramel Biscuit & Cream was quickly devoured by my girlfriend and yours truly after tasting the well balanced fragrance of the ice cream coupled with the chewy caramel biscuit bits. The Mango & Passion Fruit ice cream was strong in its taste presence and if offered a sweet-sour symphony which made our face go all cringy upon tasting the sour passion fruit; exciting I must say. The Tiramisu ice cream was just a cool sweet caffeine tasting pleasure which slid down our throats smoothly, bringing a calm soothing close to our ice cream taste test session. Haagen Dazs ice cream selection boasts of ice creams which are rich in flavour and refined in their texture. It is something that I will definitely try again in the near future. *Thumbs Up*
 
Date of Visit: Jan 07, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen with no soul Cry Jan 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

My craving for Japanese ramen went beyond control so I decided to try out the first Ramen stall I encountered this past Saturday at Vivocity. When I saw Aoba ramen's selection of dishes, it immediately reminded me of Ajisan's sub par food standards. Nonetheless, I decided to give this shop a try and here's my verdict.

 
I tasted out their only highly recommended dish in their menu. The "Tontoro Ramen" which seems to resemble a pork cheek ramen. I was thinking if their best ramen is unworthy in its taste, then there's no point trying out their other flavours of ramen in the future. Sadly, their Tontoro Ramen was nothing to rave about. The char siew or pork slices they offered was too oily and fatty for my liking. The noodles to be fair tasted pretty average so there was nothing to complain about. The soup however which makes up the most important component or "soul" of the ramen tasted too salty for my liking as I can't taste any essence of their broth whatsoever. This is may taste fine for the undiscerning diner but for regulars who frequent ramen joints like me, this sits in the same league as the sub par Ajisan's ramen.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 07, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Take Out Ice Cream Smile Jan 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato | Kids-Friendly

I think this is the only outlet of this ice cream chain in which diners can only take out. The branch at Great World City sadly only offers a more limited range of ice cream flavours. Besides that, the ice cream itself was good to summarise my experience.
Pulot Hitam (Left) Cookies & Cream (Right)

Pulot Hitam (Left) Cookies & Cream (Right)

 
Their cookies & cream ice cream tasted pretty much like your run off the mill ice cream which meant that it did not stand out from the rest of its field of competitors. However, its Pulot Hitam flavour was especially memorable for me as I had not tried out such an exotic flavoured ice cream which was tailored for the Singaporean taste buds! The Pulot Hitam was creamy and tasted rather similar to yam flavoured ice cream with traces of red beans. It resulted in a sweet creamy ice cream with additional red bean bits for you to chew on. Yummy!smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pulot Hitam ice cream
 
Date of Visit: Jan 04, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0