OpenRice Index
  
jamcansing
This is jamcansing living in Bukit Batok. I am a Freelancer, work in Bukit Batok. I like to hang out in Rochor, Orchard, Bukit Batok. Japanese, Vietnamese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bars/Lounges, Hotel and Burgers and Sandwiches, Pasta.
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review5 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity5384 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
jamcansing  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 Reviews in Singapore
Local Fare OK Aug 01, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Halal

The first time I saw and heard about QiZi I didn't know what to expect. So, just this week I was in the area and popped in to give it a try. I ordered Set 6 for S$4.80 and a barley water to eat in.

Set 6 consists of rice, fried egg, fried fish, fried chicken wing, ikan billis, generous portion of chili and cucumber slices.

I found the egg a little over done (the yoke wasn't even waxy) and the fried fish was not cut. The rice was fragant and full of flavour plus it was not overcooked or undercooked. The chili paste was sweet and spicy hot but not so hot that you'd kill all your taste buds with one bite.

The organisation looks good but somewhere along the line I feel something is wrong as the turnaround time to get me my meal was far too long. A server and a cashier should run smoothly but I ended up in a different queue after ordering.



price board

price board

 
Fruits and Vegetables - closer look

Fruits and Vegetables - closer look

 
Delicious close-up of a big Nasi Lemak combo

Delicious close-up of a big Nasi Lemak combo

 
Good barley wantedl!

Good barley wantedl!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Japanese Smile Jul 31, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

I've been eating at Genkai Nada Japanese Restaurant since an ex-colleague introduce it to me 10 years ago.

It remains pretty much the same since then, with the exception of some furniture and interior changes mostly due to wear and tear.

You'll always find a Japanese inside for dinner or lunch so you know it has to be pretty decent food.

I usually go in and take their set menu or if you are in for lunch they have a weekday special menu. I highly recommend their Unagi Set or the Deep Fried Pork chop. The former is a huge fillet of unagi, so huge I'd say it is double the portion size of most other Japanese restaurants.

Seating is limited to approximately 25 and they do have some outdoor seating in case you don't like the air conditioning.

What I do like about their set menu is the variety of food that ends up on your tray. You'll get a small bowl of miso soup with seaweed and tofu, often a potato salad, pickles, slice of fruit, and sometimes a dish I have no idea what it is. (See my empty plates)

I took a lousy photo but you can see the quantity of items you get is great value. Make sure you have an empty stomach before you go so you don't waste anything. When I visited I was so hungry and into eating I realised too late that I had not take a good picture.

If you like sashimi and sushi you'll always get it freshly made by hand when you order.

I'll probably eat there more often once I move to my new place on West Coast Road.

Outdoor Seating

Outdoor Seating

 
Front Sliding Door with Trad Japanese Curtain

Front Sliding Door with Trad Japanese Curtain

 
Sashim and Sushi

Sashim and Sushi

 
So much on the tray

So much on the tray

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

All Day Breakfast Smile Jul 09, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Halal

Every have a craving for breakfast in the middle of the night? The problem is there isn't many places that will serve you breakfast at that hour. This isn't usually a problem in the United States where a franchise called Denny's serves full breakfast anytime anyday. There used to be a Denny's in Singapore but no more.

So, breakfast type of fare is usually, eggs, toast and coffee.

Ah Mei's Cafe is the place to get a BIG cuppa joe, in my case, a kopi-o. Set it all up with two soft boiled eggs and a piece of kaya toast and you'll have the breakfast for champions.

I took Set A and it cost me $3.20.

The kopi-o was great, fresh, not bitter, sour or burnt from overheating or sitting too long on an electric burner or coals.

The eggs were to my liking not too runny and not too hard (the yolk). The yolks were almost up to Japanese style of being waxy.

Toast is pretty normal and as my usual health conscious self, I ordered my kaya toast without the Cold Storage butter 'style'. ;)

Lots of seating with clean tables.

If you decide you want to eat something else, you can find chicken rice and pratas.

Open 24 Hours.
Set A

Set A

 
Inside and Outside

Inside and Outside

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.50(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Domino's Pizza Smile Jul 07, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

If you like pizza then you know good pizza is not made in a pan with oily crusts. Good thin crust pizza is also hard to find and when you do it is in a high-end Italian restaurant. The pizza crust also needs to be stretched by hand from fresh dough.

I didn't see the dough being stretched when I ordered my traditional pepperoni pizza. Anyway, I waited after placing my order and if the counter person did not inform you they have a 15 minute guarantee.

Before the 15 minutes was up my piping hot pizza pie was ready. I rushed off home to dig in although I could have sat down and ate it in the outlet. There's approximately 12 seats for dining in.

The thin crust is nice (see photo). The way the pizza was cut was a crime. Everyone knows a pizza should be cut like a pie. I'm not sure if this is the way that Domino's cuts their pizza's but if it is how the employee is trained and how Domino's cuts, in the future I'm going to have to ensure and insist my pizza is not cut.

Pizza's should be cut in the shape of a pie in equal portions. Small 8 to 10 inch diameter pizzas can be cut into 6 equal portions while larger can be cut into 8, 10 or 12 depending on the size. (See my photo of the cutting) Ugh!

The crust was done just right. The sauce was zesty but not overly spicy so it is suitable for all diners. I did find slightly too much sauce on top and that made the ingredient susceptible to sliding off. Pepperonis were distributed well and were delicious.

The Thin Crust is excellent

The Thin Crust is excellent

 

 
Price a bit high..luckily they had a coupon.

Price a bit high..luckily they had a coupon.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Traditional Pepperoni Pizza
 
Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Laksa  Smile Jul 07, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

You'll find all your favourite soul food here.

Laksa, Mince Meat Noodles, Chicken Wings, Fishball Noodle, Dumpling Soup, Fishballs, and a whole lot more. See the menu (photograph).

I tried the laksa. There is a generous helping of cockles and if you don't like them they can exclude when you order. Thick fishcake slices and I love the fish glue beancurd thingy (I don' t know what it is called but it is like layers of beancurd skin with fish paste inbetween.)

The gravy is heavy with coconut, fragrant and full of flavour. It comes across as a little sweet.

I also had a homemade barley water. The drink is thick but not sweet with a decent amount of barley at the bottom. I was put off at first with the price of $1.80 especially since there wasn't a price list. The serving is pretty big so in the end the cost was justified.

My only complaint for the shop is the mouldy smelling tables and trays, especially the trays. This odour is caused by a stagnant rag and it is a sign of not being cleaned thoroughly and properly. I would recommend the shop to use a little bit of disinfectant like Dettol in the rinse or carry a small spray bottle mixture of diluted Dettol and water to wipe clean the tables and trays.

The shop has seating for approximately 50 pax.

Open 24 hours?
The presentation is pretty good. Looks yummy!

The presentation is pretty good. Looks yummy!

 
Cockles plentiful and medium size

Cockles plentiful and medium size

 
The menu

The menu

 
At the Railway Mall

At the Railway Mall

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Laksa, Mince meat noodles, chicken wings
 
Date of Visit: Jul 07, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $6.50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0