OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2197 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 56 to 60 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Ramen Dinner Smile Aug 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen


Having heard from my guy about the nice ramen from RamenPlay, decided that for dinner as I have long wanted to try.

We ordered Tebasaki Braised Chicken Wings Tonkotsu Ramen ($12.80), Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen ($12.80), Bamboo Chicken ($5.80) and a Yuzu Yoghurt drink that total up about $42.00.

Yuzu Yoghurt

Awesome choice although I don't taste any yoghurt in it but maybe it is all blended inside. So icy and taste a little like lemon but confirm perk you up.

Tebasaki Braised Chicken Wings Tonkotsu Ramen

I guess they have braised the chicken wings real long. It is so soft in texture that when you bite on it, it tears easily. The soup is tasty of course along with the nice ramen which is what I long for. The instant noodles type of ramen that taste springy. The way they cook the noodles is very important. Best part, I love the egg. Again, the taste is in between soft boiled and hard-boiled egg. So soft and nice, I just don't know how they manage that.

Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen

My guy loves it. He has a thing for spice and although this is not very spicy but he considered it good. At least it meets his minimum expectation for spicy level. The minced pork are nice and when mixed, it seems like disappearing before you. Seems like melting together with the soup. That maybe helps to enhance the soup base that why it is so tasty. And the portion of noodles is just right for both our Ramen.

Bamboo Chicken - Recommended

The side dish is served with egg yolk. I didn't dare to try raw egg yolk but I tasted the original taste. The chicken has the bamboo smell coming from it after grilling, with slightly charred and very juicy. I like it so much. Although is a little salty, but according to my guy, he said that after dipping into the egg yolk, it covers the saltiness and it tastes very smooth. I believe that because it is quite common that grilled stuff have this roughness against our gums that sometimes if too hot, it can cause you ulcer. I recommended all to at least try once on this Bamboo Chicken.

Despite the various reviews that I have seen online before heading there, I judge based on my taste bud. I mean you can't pleased everyone that easily. I will come back for their other choices next time.
Ramen

Ramen

 
Tebasaki Braised Chicken Wings Tonkotsu Ramen

Tebasaki Braised Chicken Wings Tonkotsu Ramen

 
Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen

Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen

 
Egg - Upclose

Egg - Upclose

 
Bamboo Chicken

Bamboo Chicken

 
Ramen - Upclose

Ramen - Upclose

 
Yuzu Yoghurt

Yuzu Yoghurt

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bamboo Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Indulgence OK Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

I have gotten my craving for ice cream waffle satisfied at Gelare. I'm not sure if there is the best place for waffle but since there is no single soul in the cafe, I decided to patronize them.

Chose a Chocolate Chip waffle with Raspberry Sorbet and Cookie & Cream ice cream plus Chocolate syrup over the waffle. That costs me $17.15, which is quite expensive to me. This is the price I had at Baskin Robbins for two persons in total. Well... it is two different things.

First of all I'm on chocolate intoxication. The chocolate chip waffle is drizzled with chocolate syrup. Sweetness overload. The waffle itself smell good even from far before serving up to me. It is soft and crisp on the outside. As for the ice cream, the Cookie & Cream adds on to the sweetness, with the cookie crumps from within. And so is the Raspberry Sorbet. So icy and sweetness. I think I'm gonna get diabetic soon.

I will come back again if I have the craving for waffle and shall only take one scoop of ice cream. That shall be sorbet of any flavours.
Ice Cream Waffle

Ice Cream Waffle

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwanese Food Combo Smile Aug 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

I guess it is a Taiwanese food feast week for me this week. It seems that I can't get enough of mee sua. And as usual at Snackz It, our usual order will be Oyster Mee Sua + Crispy Calamari + Lemonade Lite. The price has increased from a combo $6.90 to $7.30 now. So having it once awhile is still fairly alright even though their food are nice. I strongly recommend if you can, order the combo. Much more worth it. Because it almost the same price if you order ala carte. But one good thing is if you order a combo, add a drink at only $0.70! 3 different types of drink for you to choose from. They have only a type of mee sua unlike Xi Men Street but the sides have 6 types.

Their Oyster Mee Sua is almost the same as the famous Ah Zhong Mian Xian in Taiwan and they used fresh oyster that actually melts in every mouthful of mee sua. They put chilli in the mee sua but should give a little bit more because with the fried onion inside, the former further enhance the overall taste. The vinegar should be given lesser because if too much, it spoils the mee sua taste.

As for the calamari, it doesn't taste very salty. It is very chewy and crispy with every bite. The flour or batter to dip the calamari in is not very thick and you can actually taste the calamari more rather than some others which the batter is thicker. Most importantly the calamari is fresh. That's why is chewy and springy. Choose if you want it spicy or not. Depends on individual preference. So do try it.
Menu

Menu

 
Oyster Mee Sua

Oyster Mee Sua

 
Oyster Mee Sua - Upclose

Oyster Mee Sua - Upclose

 
Crispy Calamari

Crispy Calamari

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy Calamari
 
Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

BreadTalk's Birthday Promo Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery


It's BreadTalk's 13th Birthday and to celebrate this special occasion, all their buns are going at $10 for 10 buns! Awesome isn't it? The promotion ends yesterday and probably I'm in lady luck so happen to know about it and head down to join the fun of buying their different types of buns. In additional, a free bun was given before the cashier hand me my purchase.

Out of 10 buns, I had 3 of them. The overall texture of their buns are commendable as it is soft and tears easily apart.

Croissant

The croissant was decent and nothing to write home about. However there was a strong flavour of butter coming from it, which exactly how a good croissant should be.

Sausage Bun

There was a variety of flavours bursting out every mouthful. I can taste the bits of sweetness on the outside but then it seems to be infused with herbs on the bun making process. And then the sausage within combines perfectly overall.

Curry Bun

The taste of their bun is just so similar to the sausage bun. However what differentiates the two is that this curry bun has fillings of curry puff. I can taste the small cubes of potato within the fillings infused with curry herbs, I suppose it should be that way.

As this is bought during their promotion, I hardly see any display of each of the bun's name so I tasted each of them with my own judgment and preference.

I'm not a regular customer of BreadTalk but once awhile, it is definitely a good treat for me and my family to taste those awesome buns of theirs.
$10 for 10 buns

$10 for 10 buns

 
Croissant

Croissant

 
Sausage Bun

Sausage Bun

 
Curry Bun

Curry Bun

 
Free!

Free!

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mee Sua Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

As promised, I'm finally back for their mee sua. Looks so tempting. Although I should not be duped again like previously on their rice set, but seeing so much of Taiwanese food on Instagram, it makes me miss Taiwan and their food. So for lunch today, I head down to have their Clams with Chicken Floss Mee Sua ($4) and a cup of Iced Lemon Barley ($2) that costs a total of $6.

For that price though still not really worthwhile, but it actually tide away my yearn for the year-end trip to Taiwan. The mee sua was unexpectedly tasty and most importantly, not watery and thickness level is just right. Although it tastes the same like any others such as Shihlin Taiwan Street Snacks and Snackz It (Ke Kou Wei), the one good thing is that they have few varieties to choose like oysters with chicken floss and crabsticks with chicken floss mee sua.

I found only 3 clams and is actually fresh. Not fishy smell. Along with chicken floss (shredded chicken) and parsley, the portion and taste has me filled up to the brim. And end with a cup of ice lemon barley, lunch is just as satisfying.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0