9
1
1
等級4
Our list of Fish Steamboat places are limited till we explored another place here in North Bridge Road. Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat Corner adopt the use of charcoal instead of the ususal gas can operated steamboat pot. It is said that the use of charcoal to fire up the broth gave a smoky flavour and an even heat distribution to the broth itself. Location is rather prominent as it is located at the traffic junction. However, one thing that one might be worrying if driving would be the parki
更多
Our list of Fish Steamboat places are limited till we explored another place here in North Bridge Road. Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat Corner adopt the use of charcoal instead of the ususal gas can operated steamboat pot. It is said that the use of charcoal to fire up the broth gave a smoky flavour and an even heat distribution to the broth itself.

90 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Location is rather prominent as it is located at the traffic junction. However, one thing that one might be worrying if driving would be the parking spaces.

75 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not long after we settled down, we notice the constant stream of patrons walking into the shop. Everyone who walks in were promptly attended by the server. Most who came in had already made reservation via phone call before hand and they were directed to the air conditioned corner of Nan Hwa Chong.

93 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Seeing this station as the toughest job of all standing in front of the flames ensuring that the charcoal are evenly burn and stuffing them into the every steamboat that comes out from the kitchen.

49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
 Supposed to be their recommended egg dish, however we got it served with the middle part burnt. Nevertheless the texture still remains fluffy and taste ordinary with a handful of oysters.

Oyster Egg
52 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The plate of stirred fried broccoli is my kind of home cook dishes. The light taste of broccoli greens is cooked with carrots, ginger and button mushrooms with minced garlic.
Stirred Fried Broccoli
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We had chosen the grouper fishboat. The grouper fish comes from the sea-bass family.It is low in fat and cholesterol with firm texture and mild flavour. A healthy choice that does not compromise in taste. Three other types of fish offered will be Pomfret, Song Fish Head and Snapper Fish.

Grouper Fish Medium Pot - $35
$35
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ingredients include fish, vegetables, seaweed, fried taro, flat fish, white cabbage and grouper fish. Soup is rich and sweet.

46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
While the cloudy soup may be made up by the yam, unlike other places they were done by adding milk to it. If you are wondering about the familiar taste in the stock, its the generous portions of flat fish added to the soup that gave a different taste to it.

Flat Fish
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not only that the fried yam added had also elevated the soup taste.

46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Simply love dabbing the fish meat into this sweet sour and spicy chilli.

45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
 If you love traditional fish steamboat with charcoal, Nan Hwa Chong Fish-Head is a very good choice. Not only that, they do have a variety of Cze Char Dishes in the menu for selection too.

https://www.umakemehungry.com/2018/08/nan-hwa-chong-fish-head-steamboat-corner.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Stirred Fried Broccoli
Grouper Fish Medium Pot - $35
$ 35
同步刊載
等級1
1
0
2015-11-20 885 瀏覽
Unlike most pork ribs outside, that are usually tough and hard to chew, this was cooked really well. The meat was very tasty and succulent. This is definitely one of my favourite dishes, apart from their signature Fishboat which is just as good as their first outlet's. There was so many other dishes that I want to try and will definitely come back again! 
更多
Champagne Pork Ribs
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Unlike most pork ribs outside, that are usually tough and hard to chew, this was cooked really well. The meat was very tasty and succulent. This is definitely one of my favourite dishes, apart from their signature Fishboat which is just as good as their first outlet's. There was so many other dishes that I want to try and will definitely come back again! 
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-11-18
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
推介美食
Champagne Pork Ribs
  • Fishboat
等級3
61
0
Full review: http://nkikichua.blogspot.sg/2015/09/nan-hwa-fishboat-north-bridge-road.htmlNan Hwa FishBoat has come a long way building up its legacy since 1927, also known as the oldest fish head steamboat restaurant in Singapore. It's accessibly positioned in an old shop house at the corner of North Bridge Road and Jalan Sultan. An old-school coffee shop setting with a lively atmosphere filled with patrons on the ground level’s dining area and the air lingers the smoky smell of charcoal. To ens
更多
Full review: http://nkikichua.blogspot.sg/2015/09/nan-hwa-fishboat-north-bridge-road.html

Nan Hwa FishBoat has come a long way building up its legacy since 1927, also known as the oldest fish head steamboat restaurant in Singapore. It's accessibly positioned in an old shop house at the corner of North Bridge Road and Jalan Sultan. An old-school coffee shop setting with a lively atmosphere filled with patrons on the ground level’s dining area and the air lingers the smoky smell of charcoal. To ensure they attract more customers, an air-conditioned area is also available on the second level.

Regular Grouper steamboat [$38/$45/$70] - how accommodating that the dishes comes in small, medium and large. Indeed the soup brings out the sweetness and richness from the fish with charcoal. You can now add on the Atlantic Codfish, new on their menu, it is meant to be eaten in shabu shabu style.

Fried Pork Belly with unique Fermented Red Beancurd is my favourite! It is comparable to Bangkok street stall's fermented pork. A slice of it is filled with the aroma flavour and the right chewy texture.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
等級4
115
0
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/nam-hwa-chong-ah-chew-fish-head-steamboat-corner-亚秋南华昌鱼头炉Follow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and FacebookNam Hwa Chong, Nam Hwa Chang and Nam Hwa Chiang. After some research, although there is more clarity, but I'm still a little uncertain. The story of these varied names has to do with an ex-wife, friend and the owner himself. More importantly, I visited the original Nam Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat located at the corner of North Bridge Road and Jalan
更多
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/nam-hwa-chong-ah-chew-fish-head-steamboat-corner-亚秋南华昌鱼头炉

Follow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and Facebook

Nam Hwa Chong, Nam Hwa Chang and Nam Hwa Chiang. After some research, although there is more clarity, but I'm still a little uncertain. The story of these varied names has to do with an ex-wife, friend and the owner himself. More importantly, I visited the original Nam Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat located at the corner of North Bridge Road and Jalan Sultan.
When a restaurant or any entity can last for more than 90 years through three generations, it definitely speaks volume about their success.
Nam Hwa Chong restaurant still continues to use charcoal for their traditional Teochew Fish Head Steamboat and offers a wide choice of fishes to go with.
My buddies and I had Snapper ($28) instead of the more popular choices such as Pomfret and Grouper.
Despite not being a fan of soup based food, but the broth here was magical as I found myself refilling bowl after bowl. The meat of the snapper was firm too!
On top of that, we ordered Fried Shrimp Roll ($8) and Salted Egg Chicken ($15).
Not much kick by the Salted Egg Chicken and the Fried Shrimp Roll. To be exact, both were delicious, just no WOW factor as compared to their Steamboat.
At least the Shrimp Roll had chunky water chest nut and more minced meat paste then just filled with flour.
Perfect spot for a hearty pot of fish steamboat on a rainy evening!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
151
3
2012-09-05 439 瀏覽
Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat location is at junction of Jln Sultan and North Bridge road. You never miss the shop as you will see alot of cars park along side of the road in front of the shop.My first visit for this place.Decided to order the single bowl of fish slices noodle instead of the steamboat type.We seated outside as the inside aircon room got the frying smell. No air ventilation.If you order the fish slices, cost is $5.50. If you want the fish head and slices, cost is $6.50.As a f
更多

Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat location is at junction of Jln Sultan and North Bridge road. You never miss the shop as you will see alot of cars park along side of the road in front of the shop.
My first visit for this place.
Decided to order the single bowl of fish slices noodle instead of the steamboat type.
We seated outside as the inside aircon room got the frying smell. No air ventilation.
If you order the fish slices, cost is $5.50.
If you want the fish head and slices, cost is $6.50.
As a first timer, I decide to try their fish slices noodle.
Order take about 15min.
When it come, you will be surprise to see a big bowl, but the big bowl is full of their soup base.
Taste of the fish slices is not really big slice. Guess they using pomfret fish ?
The taste of the fish, got a fishy smell on it...dissappointed.
The soup is okay as you don't really taste that they added too much MSG.
Overall first time there not really expected this.
And last when you pay your bill, the waiteress actually change you the wrong amount. So check your change.
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
65 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-09-04
等級4
2012-06-27 250 瀏覽
This is the first visit for Mr. Frederick Tan, Mr. Ian Ong and Mr. Ng Khim Kwee because I had pre-arranged our dinner discussion one day before hand.We went there on Wednesday evening, it was quiet with only about 2 tables occupied and there were more than 10 staff at the dining area, but the waiters and waitresses' service was very slow.We ordered pomfret steamboat and the other two dishes.Soup was clear.When we finally finished our steamboat, Mr. Ian Ong was raising his hands up (doing the cal
更多
53 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
54 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is the first visit for Mr. Frederick Tan, Mr. Ian Ong and Mr. Ng Khim Kwee because I had pre-arranged our dinner discussion one day before hand.

We went there on Wednesday evening, it was quiet with only about 2 tables occupied and there were more than 10 staff at the dining area, but the waiters and waitresses' service was very slow.

We ordered pomfret steamboat and the other two dishes.

Soup was clear.

When we finally finished our steamboat, Mr. Ian Ong was raising his hands up (doing the call for bill gesture) repeatedly and saying MAI DAN for many times. I had to stand up and SHOUTED for our bill, I even raised to the top of my voice telling them we had been calling for bill!

They took it like a joke. Nobody was apologised when a filipino waitress came for collection.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-23
等級4
2012-06-15 99 瀏覽
Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat is located at the junction of Jalan Sultan and North Bridge Road, opposite Textile Centre. On a crowded day, diners may have to settle fort tables by the road side along Jalan Sultan Road or the back alley.The restaurant used characoal-based steamboat. You can choose the type of fish for your steamboat. Grouper and pomfret were more popular from what I observed after eating here on a few occasions. Beside fish steamboat, the restaurant also offered cooked food.
更多
Nan Hwa Chong Fish Head Steamboat is located at the junction of Jalan Sultan and North Bridge Road, opposite Textile Centre. On a crowded day, diners may have to settle fort tables by the road side along Jalan Sultan Road or the back alley.

The restaurant used characoal-based steamboat. You can choose the type of fish for your steamboat. Grouper and pomfret were more popular from what I observed after eating here on a few occasions. Beside fish steamboat, the restaurant also offered cooked food. On weekends, do make reservation to avoid disappointment.

You can either take bus no. 107 from Lavender MRT station which is 2 stops away or take a 10 mins walk. to get there. If you are walking there, just get across the car park beside the MRT station. Walk along the canal, cross the canal, cut through the block of flats. When you are at the main road, turn to your right and walk down North Bridge Road until you come to a T-Junction and the restaurant is just opposite.

If by circle line, just align at Nicoll Highway MRT station, go to exit A and follow the overhead walkway all the way across to Jalan Sultan. Walk another 50 meters along Jalan Sultan and you will come to a T-Junction where the restaurant is located.
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-05-05 45 瀏覽
The fish head used in the steamboat are very big and fresh with no stingy fishy smell in it. Lots of my favourite ingredients can be found in the steamboat which includes the smooth beancurd cubes,chye sim, white cabbage, carrot, mushrooms and spring onions. These ingredients have added that extra sweetness and nutrition to this soup and this is best to eat with plain fragrant rice or eat it own it's own also can. Not to forget their in house chilli sauce which the stall owner has used his secr
更多
The fish head used in the steamboat are very big and fresh with no stingy fishy smell in it. Lots of my favourite ingredients can be found in the steamboat which includes the smooth beancurd cubes,chye sim, white cabbage, carrot, mushrooms and spring onions. These ingredients have added that extra sweetness and nutrition to this soup and this is best to eat with plain fragrant rice or eat it own it's own also can. Not to forget their in house chilli sauce which the stall owner has used his secret recipe to make it. Simply too good to almost want to eat it everyday.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-04-15
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
等級3
82
0
2012-04-23 50 瀏覽
I'm a big fan of steamboats but I usually finish drinking the soup, their soup was so tasty, I couldn't stop drinking it! Pomfret slices were very fresh and the yam was a new experience but definitely a must-try as well. If you are a big eater and you are going with your parent, don't order the small, order the medium at least. I ordered the small and ended up having to ask for extra ingredient which cost us 20 dollars. The portions were ok, not especially generous but within reason.
更多
I'm a big fan of steamboats but I usually finish drinking the soup, their soup was so tasty, I couldn't stop drinking it! Pomfret slices were very fresh and the yam was a new experience but definitely a must-try as well. If you are a big eater and you are going with your parent, don't order the small, order the medium at least. I ordered the small and ended up having to ask for extra ingredient which cost us 20 dollars. The portions were ok, not especially generous but within reason.
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$20+
等級4
585
5
2012-04-13 77 瀏覽
Reasonably priced at only $28(price increased) , a small pomfret steamboat for two comes with satisfactory portions of fresh and tasty pomfret, vegetables and yam pieces. Filled with the concentrated sweetness of fish and the subtle aroma of herbs and spices, the mouthwatering soup is definitely the distinguishing factor for this fish head steamboat. However, please refrain from asking for a refill of the soup unless necessary as the refill is considerably diluted compared with the original. Hav
更多
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Reasonably priced at only $28(price increased) , a small pomfret steamboat for two comes with satisfactory portions of fresh and tasty pomfret, vegetables and yam pieces. Filled with the concentrated sweetness of fish and the subtle aroma of herbs and spices, the mouthwatering soup is definitely the distinguishing factor for this fish head steamboat. However, please refrain from asking for a refill of the soup unless necessary as the refill is considerably diluted compared with the original. Having tried the various famous fish head steamboats in Singapore, I still like the one from Nan Hwa Chong along North Bridge Road most, will go often whenever I am free
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-11-05
人均消費
$20
推介美食
  • fish head steamboat
等級4
225
5
2011-12-29 40 瀏覽
Fish Head Steamboat $30It comes with satisfactory portions of fish fresh and tasty soup base, vegetables and yam pieces. The concentrated sweetness of fish and the subtle aroma of herbs and spices, the mouthwatering soup is definitely the distinguishing factor for this fish head steamboat. However, please refrain from asking for a refill of the soup unless necessary as the refill is considerably diluted compared with the original.Kang kong with cuttlefish $12Fried baby squid $10 – the baby squid
更多
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
40 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fish Head Steamboat $30
It comes with satisfactory portions of fish fresh and tasty soup base, vegetables and yam pieces. The concentrated sweetness of fish and the subtle aroma of herbs and spices, the mouthwatering soup is definitely the distinguishing factor for this fish head steamboat. However, please refrain from asking for a refill of the soup unless necessary as the refill is considerably diluted compared with the original.

Kang kong with cuttlefish $12
Fried baby squid $10 – the baby squid is very crunchy and delicious. It just like eating crackers.
Lime juice $3
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-12-04
人均消費
$55 (晚餐)
等級4
2011-12-14 34 瀏覽
Walked and drive pass this stall a couple of times so decided to organise a gathering there. We can choose whether we want to sit downstairs (quite hot) or upstairs (aircon).We ordered the pomfret steamboat. There are 4 types of fishes to choose from: Pomfret, Song fish, Red Snapper and Grouper. The soup base taste really good. Best of all, there is free refill of soup. Love how the steamboat is presented with charcoal burning right in the middle of the pot.We ordered fried shrimp rolls bec
更多
Walked and drive pass this stall a couple of times so decided to organise a gathering there. We can choose whether we want to sit downstairs (quite hot) or upstairs (aircon).
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered the pomfret steamboat. There are 4 types of fishes to choose from: Pomfret, Song fish, Red Snapper and Grouper. The soup base taste really good. Best of all, there is free refill of soup. Love how the steamboat is presented with charcoal burning right in the middle of the pot.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered fried shrimp rolls because my friend said that it is nice and a must order. Taste good too. Especially when dipped with the dark sweet sauce that is provided with the dish.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I did a quick research and found out that a lot of good comments had been given for the Special Homemade beancurd and decided to try it out. True enough, the crispiness of the exterior mixed with the softness of the interior of this dish makes it stand out from the rest of the beancurd I have tried. I can have the entire plate to myself. This is a must try!!
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My friend likes the sambal sweet potato leaves. I didn't quite like it because of it's sogginess but it's just me. My friend love it!
53 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
This is the entire meal that fed 5 of us.
69 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Front page of the menu.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$23 (晚餐)