OpenRice Index
  
waiwai
This is waiwai living in Paya Lebar. I work in Orchard.
Member 7 First(s)
No. of Review85 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1392 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos372 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews17 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant32 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2929 Following
粉絲1356 Follower(s)
waiwai  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 17 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
TheArcticStar
606 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bak Kut Teh

If you wonder why there is a long line at the steps of this restaurant daily and nightly, and if you wonder why so many photographs of celebrities grace the wall of this simple little eatery, well then I suggest you give it a try.

 
I have been to Founder Bak Kut Teh many times, and have tried a lot of other decidedly famous ones over the years as well - but this still reigns as one of my top favorites. That is despite the queue and hurried service. Anyway, tonight the Beau and I graced the restaurant once more.

 
The Beau took the Founder Bak Kut Teh (SGD$8.00) that came with a bowl of white rice. The meat was tender enough, and the soup was piping hot and very tasteful with strong peppery overhaul - perfect for a rainy evening like the one we were enjoying.

 
I selected the Pig's Intestine's Soup (SGD$6.50) with no rice. Rest assured that it would also be served with the same delicious and distinctive white pepper stock soup. The innards were all right - some chewy, some tender, some springy in texture, but all were good.

The side dishes such as salted vegetables, braised peanuts, braised eggs etc are all tasty and serve as wonderful accompaniment as well. Alternatively, their Pig's Trotter (SGD$8.00) a try as well - tasty, tender and sinfully good for a once-in-a-blue-moon indulgence.

For full review and more photographs, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/10/dinner-at-founder-bak-kut-teh-orchid.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Founder Bak Kut Teh,Pig Intestine Soup,pig trotter,braised egg,salted vegetables,braised peanuts
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
leehcken
40 Review(s)
Level 3
Great charcoal Thai BBQ Smile Sep 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Buffet | Mookata

Made a reservation so it is fast and no problem. We ordered the set and it comes fast. The secret is not the food but the sauce they provided. It goes extremely well with the food - especially the green sauce. It has the tangy sweet taste that makes the meat taste so juicy and appetizing! 

There are many more choices now so if Food could be more, considering the price paid,it will be great!

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 4 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
cptslowyeo
479 Review(s)
Level 4
Rainbow cakes and okay food :) Smile Sep 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Salads


I was attracted to this cafe, because of their rainbow cakes. We found some public parking along the hawker center, across the road from NOM. We got to NOM at 12pm and we were the first customers there. The waiter was quick and gave us the menu and iced water within a few minutes of us getting seated.

My colleagues tried the fish and chips, which was a giant beer battered fish. They claimed that they could taste a tinge of beer in the batter. The appetizers of breaded mushroom wasn't too bad, but there were only like 7 pieces. Each time you bit into the breaded mushroom, you could taste the oil. sad Def not my fav breaded mushrom of all times. We also had the parmesan truffle fries, which were okay. for $6.90 I guess it isn't too bad. 

I got the banger rosti as my main, and though the rosti was crispy, it was quiet thin. It was thinner than expected. But it still tasted decent. The cheese sausage was super juicy with cheese sauce smile 

For dessert, we had both the oreo and the chocolate rainbow cakes. Which at a price of $7.90 is quiet heavy. But the oreo was so awesome and tasty. Same with the chocolate. Reminded me of awfully chocolate cake, that I just had for breakfast this morning. 

I would def come back to try more of their rainbow cakes, especially the salted caramel and more of their dishes for sure!
oreo and chocolate rainbow

oreo and chocolate rainbow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oreo rainbow cake,Chocolate rainbow cake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Hazelleo
260 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Chinese Soup | Chinese Noodles

Chang Thai is a Thai restaurant that is located at the neighbourhood area. For those staying around the north and looking for affordable Thai cuisine, this will be an added list then.It is approximately 15-20 minutes walk from Bishan MRT station. Alternatively, you can always take a bus to reach the destination.

A bit of the history of Chang Thai for you guys. The eatery is founded by 3 buddies in their 20s to 30 that comes with different working backgrounds. But they shared the common interest and passion on Thai Foods and thus, we have the affordable Thai cuisine in neighourhood area.

 
We had the Lemon Grass Drink and Thai Milk Green Tea S$2.50 each.Thai Milk Green Tea is something different from the usual Lemongrass drink.

 
Pandan Chicken S$2.50/pc was tender, juicy and fragrance from the aroma smell of the pandan leaves.

 
Beef Noodle Soup S$7.00 was my favourite overall. The soup broth has the nourishing and rich flavor and it is quite addictive after few sips. But we were given the soup broth to try on. So the picture below is without noodles.

 
Mango Salad S$6.00 is one of the signature Thai dish to savor before main order is served.

 
Highly recommended dish, Garlic Honey Chicken comes in two sizes S$6.00/S$8.00. Nicely fried with even spread of honey over the crisp chicken striking the balance with the tenderness, juiciness and sweetness.

 
We were introduced to Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass S$25.00. The fish freshness is the key for steamed dish. The combination of seabass with lemongrass was indeed achieve a balance of sweetness and aroma fragrance.

 
Pad Thai comes in two sizes S$6.00/ S$9.00. Definitely a value for money as the portion is very generous.

 
Prawn Cake S$5.80 for 3pcs. You can taste the freshness, crisp and rich prawn paste.

 
As for desserts, we tried Tapioca with Coconut Milk S$4.00. Loving the soft texture of the tapioca with coconut milk spreaded over it.

 
Red Ruby with Jackfruit S$5.00 is my favourite Thai dessert. Red ruby here is homemade and it not starchy at all. And slices of jackfruit completes the sweet taste of the dessert.

 
Lastly we had Mango Sticky Rice S$6.00. Smooth and sweet mango with the sticky moist glutinous rice make the perfect combination. They served good ones here.

 
Overall the range of foods and price offered was quite affordable. The restaurant has ready space for family diners or even friends gathering. It is quite an offer for heart landers if they are craving for Thai cuisine and not wanting to get out of neighbourhood. This would be a choice for them.
For more details, http://hazeldiary.com/chang-thai-block-151-bishan-street-11/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Sticky Rice,Prawn Cake,Fish Cake,Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
jiaksimipng
271 Review(s)
Level 4
Interesting fusion pancakes! Smile Sep 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Halal

 
T

he opening of East Village saw many interesting eateries pop up in the Simpang Bedok area. Sarah’s The Pancake Cafe is yet another one interesting eatery that has just recently opened its doors. Pancake specialty stores are not unheard of; there are already a couple of notable eateries that serve only pancakes in Singapore. To distinguish themselves from the rest, Sarah’s The Pancake Cafe is also fully Muslim-owned, which provides a complete Halal dining experience. Apart from both sweet and savoury pancakes, there are also items such as spaghetti to choose from if you are not into pancakes.

 
I visited on their very first day of operations, and as much as I wanted to try both variants of savoury and sweet pancakes, being alone meant that I could only choose one. Ala Dol ($12.00) caught my eye pretty naturally; a local-infused pancake that puts together pancakes and Chendol into one dish. Unlike usual pancakes, these were presented in a crepe-like form; each crepe containing multiple layers all smothered with thick red bean paste that was sweet but barley cloying. It also comes drizzled in Gula Melaka, but that sweet coconut flavour seemed to get covered off by the red bean paste easily; would have preferred the Gula Melaka to be thicker so its flavours could be better brought out. Savoury corn bits were all over, and it gave the dessert a small tinge of saltiness. Coconut ice-cream sits on the top; a flavour that cannot be missing in Chendol. Loved the Atap Chee added around the sides too; I have had countless Chendol local-infusion dishes but its the first to have included the usually-forgotten ingredient.

 
Homemade Iced Tea ($3.00) was light, cooling and refreshing for the hot weather, but I would have enjoyed a heavier tea aroma for their brewed tea.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/sarahs-the-pancake-cafe-east-village/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ala-Dol
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $15(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend