OpenRice Index
  
ciscoblue
This is ciscoblue living in Jurong West. I am a Senior Officer (IT), work in Buona Vista. I like to hang out in Woodlands. Italian, Japanese, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, Zi Char, Special or new dishes.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review72 Review(s)
編輯推介數目20 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity822 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos486 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant35 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲127 Follower(s)
ciscoblue  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 72 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

 
Since we had been eating at the same old places in Raffles City, we decided to try some other restaurant instead and in the end, decided to eat at a Japanese Restaurant, “Daikokuya (大黑屋)”

 
This was a small restaurant located at one side of the shopping mall and most of the tables and seats are quite close to each other. We were quite lucky as we were allocated with a table as soon as we entered the restaurant. The staff are all very busy due to dinner peak hours and there were people starting to form a queue outside while we are ordering our dishes.
Basic setup of the table for customer (Green Tea @ $1.00 each)

Basic setup of the table for customer (Green Tea @ $1.00 each)

 
Daikokuya Maze Ramen (Dry Ramen with Boiled Egg) @ $12.80

Daikokuya Maze Ramen (Dry Ramen with Boiled Egg) @ $12.80

 
This Ramen was stated as one of the Chef’s recommendation Ramen in the menu but when it is being served to me, I felt that it was very much like those hawker / coffeeshop handmade noodle texture and taste. The ramen is being served with a few ingredients including boiled egg added onto it and a bowl of soup. I would say not a bad dish to try though there should be some better ramen within these menu.
Ramen Salad (Cold Ramen tossed with Japanese sesame dressing) @ $10.80

Ramen Salad (Cold Ramen tossed with Japanese sesame dressing) @ $10.80

 
Ramen tasted something like those instant noodles (More QQ texture) being added to a salad dish with some mayonnaise cream added onto it. The overall taste was quite refreshing and acceptable for the first time but it seems to be quite oily from the mayonnaise cream after you were nearly finishing the food. Would prefer if they add those 0% fat salad sauce instead of cream sauce.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Daikokuya Maze Ramen,Ramen Salad
 
Date of Visit: May 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner treat at NYDC OK Dec 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 

 
NYDC at Wheelock Place was located at level 2. The queue over at NYDC was still fine (Maybe still early) so we do not need to wait for long to be allocated a table for 4 pax. The staff were friendly even though they were quite busy during the evening dinner rush hours and the place are quite spacious with enough walking space for the staff to serve the dishes to customer.
Blackcurrent Soda Ice Elephanccino and Minty Lime Ice Elephanccino @ $7.80 each

Blackcurrent Soda Ice Elephanccino and Minty Lime Ice Elephanccino @ $7.80 each

 
I loves the minty lime flavor as it was just nice in between of sour and sweetness. The blackcurrent Soda was ok only for me. From the menu, you can opt for a scoop of ice-cream to boost up the drinks at an additional of $3.50.
The Prawn Who Got Creamed @ $17.80

The Prawn Who Got Creamed @ $17.80

 
The base of the pizza was crispy and highly recommended by my sister. I felt that the chef should add in more cheese (I loves cheese) to make it every nicer as just mushroom by itself will not taste great for a pizza standard.
Southwestern Cajun Chicken @ $15.50

Southwestern Cajun Chicken @ $15.50

 
The chicken chop was served in a thick portion which was just nice for me to finish it and feeling very full. Meat itself was tender and I loves their Cajun cooking style which enhanced the overall taste of this dish. The dish was served together with boiled broccoli and herb butter rice.
Mushroom Madness @ $17.00

Mushroom Madness @ $17.00

 
By default, this dish was being prepared using white cream but my sister opt for the choice of preparing it using tomato sauce version. I would say though the pasta was nicely prepared, I do not really like the taste of the sauce as it was being prepared with very little tomato sauce. Overall still a fine dish.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mushroom Madness,Southwestern Cajun Chicken
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot | BBQ | Kids-Friendly

 
Turf City now had become a hub for many different restaurants, we walked around and decided to go for a new Korean restaurant named “Han Sang Korean Restaurant & Market” which was located next to Giant Shopping mall (Enter from outside near carpark) having business as both restaurant and a Korean supermarket (Though did not really sell a lot of Korean stuff).

This restaurant actually serves buffet or ala-carte dining.

 
There were quite a lot of people dining at this place when we were there and most of them are having buffet style which you can eat all you want from a buffet bar in the middle of the restaurant. We decided to just go for a la carte meal instead after taking a look at the price and the buffet dishes being displayed (Not much choices, high in price so not value for $).

In term of staff, I do not think they were very friendly type though I would say they were not rude too. Just normal serving and you must get their attention in order to get what you wanted. We just looked through the menu and chat while waiting for our dishes to be served.
All the free side dishes

All the free side dishes

 
One thing to note about these side dishes were that they are only set of serving per table. You need to ask the staff to refill any finished dish so we need to get the staff attention to refill these plates every now and then as 3 of us were eating such a small dish. The Kimichi were very spicy which was not really to my likely while the potato salad seems nicer to eat. Peanuts were too hard and rest nothing much to comment.
Stone Pot Rice which comes with every set meals

Stone Pot Rice which comes with every set meals

 
This set comes with a stone pot rice and so called “Side dish” which were those photos I took above. We order a total of 4 set meals yet just 1 set of side dish. You need to mixed the rice as soon as it was being served as it was super hot and the rice might get burned (Which mine already got some burned at the side) if you were slow. The hot rice was quite nice to eat though the rice itself should be using those cheapo type as they do not taste really nice to eat.
Godung O Gooi (Grilled mackerel) @ $16.00

Godung O Gooi (Grilled mackerel) @ $16.00

 
Cooking style the same as those saba fish type except this dish was using mackerel as the ingredient. Not bad and it was nicely cooked and prepared.
Kimchi Cjigae (Kimchi stew) @ $16.00

Kimchi Cjigae (Kimchi stew) @ $16.00

 
This was a pork meat soup based on kimchi and as I said earlier, the kimchi served here was too spicy for my likely so I did not really drink this soup except for the ingredients inside like mushroom, meat, and beancurd.
Dak (Pan Fried Sliced Chicken) Bulgogi Set Meal @ $16.00

Dak (Pan Fried Sliced Chicken) Bulgogi Set Meal @ $16.00

 
The bulgogi chicken was not bad in term of taste though I think I was looking for water when I was eating this dish. It seems like they had added some ingredients which cause my throat dry and requesting for water to wash it away (Hope was not MSG).
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dak (Pan Fried Sliced Chicken) Bulgogi
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsubohachi @ Bugis+ Smile Dec 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 
We kindly of passed by this Japanese restaurant which kind of attracted our attention with lanterns at its main door. So we decided to go in and have our lunch as we are starving after a long walk.
Nice environment within the restaurant

Nice environment within the restaurant

 
The staff were very friendly and directed us to a table as soon as we step into the door. When we entered, I was quite impressed by the decoration and the layout of the place. There are some traditional style table seats which mimic Japanese seating while there are quite a lot of Japanese display within the restaurant. The whole place seems to be comfy and spacious too though I did not see a lot of customer eating here (Just 2 groups of customers when we were there).

Anyway, since this was the first time we eaten at this restaurant, we just proceed to look through the menu and started to order our dishes. The service here were great as the staff were fast to refill your green tea when you were finishing it.
Salmon Salad @ $9.00 (Using Wafu Dressing)

Salmon Salad @ $9.00 (Using Wafu Dressing)

 
The salad being served with some crackers sprinkled on top of it which seems so much like Chinese Yu Sheng style. Vegetables were very fresh with a few thin slice of Salmon sashimi too. The best thing I love about this dish was the use of Wafu Dressing though you can choose other salad dressing like Sesame / Ao-Shiso / Caesar too. The whole feeling of eating salad had come to a different level for this dish. Highly recommended
Traditional Yaki-Soba @ $10.50

Traditional Yaki-Soba @ $10.50

 
The dish was being served using a hotplate which can keep the soba from getting cold while you slowly eat the nice dish. I like the sauce being used though I felt that they should give more pork meat for this price (Just saw a few very thin slice of pork in it). Overall, it was a nice dish for a meal.
Unagi Kamameshi (Eel) @ $13.50

Unagi Kamameshi (Eel) @ $13.50

 
Unagi Kamameshi (Eel) after putting in all the side ingredients

Unagi Kamameshi (Eel) after putting in all the side ingredients

 
This dish was being served in a very interesting way. When the staff served the dish, it was not yet fully cooked yet and the staff explain that we need to wait for another 20 minutes before opening the lid to eat it. During these time, the staff lighted up a candle heater below the dish. Both Rachel and I had a great time chatting while waiting for the dish to be ready for us to eat. Luckily, the dish turn out to be quite nice and interesting to eat. With those mushroom and eels within the rice mixed with those ingredients that I poured in too. Good and interesting dish and you can choose other types of meat too like Salmon / Seafood / Chicken.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salmon Salad,Traditional Yaki-Soba,Unagi Kamameshi
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | European | Steaks and Grills

 
My ex-colleagues had organized a dinner cum drinking gathering over at Brotzeit located at The Star Vista on Tuesday (30 April 2013).
Long Queue to dine at the restaurant

Long Queue to dine at the restaurant

 
For anyone who wish to have their meals at this place (Especially dinner), it would be best to call them and make reservation. When I was there, there were a lot of people queuing for their turn to dine in this place. Luckily we had make reservation as we had a bigger group of people eating.

The restaurant was quite big as it uses both in-house (With Aircon) and outdoor area for customer to dine at the restaurant. Space between each tables were still consider ok though the place can be quite noisy with all the customer trying to fight with each other with their loud voice while trying to chat with their friends. The staff there were nice and friendly who will introduce some of the drinks if you were unable to make up your mind.
Price of the beer during happy hours

Price of the beer during happy hours

 
Big Glasses of Beer

Big Glasses of Beer

 
A lot of people came here due to their beer and of course their house special which was the pig knuckle. We order some draft beer (During happy hours) and to our surprise, these was served in very big beer glass.
Brotzeit Fladen Speck / Bacon Pizza @ $16.50

Brotzeit Fladen Speck / Bacon Pizza @ $16.50

 
Unlike those pizza that we had over at pizza huts, these were square shape and was more crispy and full of ingredients. The pizza includes Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella Cheese, Bacon, onions, vine ripened tomatoes and chilli.
Brotzeitplatte / Brotzeit Platter (For 4 to 5 pax) @ $88.00

Brotzeitplatte / Brotzeit Platter (For 4 to 5 pax) @ $88.00

 
This was one of the best dish and the biggest that I had eaten so far. The platter recommend 4 to 5 pax to eat it but since we are Asian, I think up to 7 pax can have this meal and still will be just nice or full to all. From this platter, the main dish were Pork Knuckle, Different varieties of sausages, Pork Schnitzels (Crispy Pork Chop) and you get to choose 2 side dishes to go with the platter all for $88.00.
Sauce for the pork Knuckle

Sauce for the pork Knuckle

 
Ente – Roast Duck @ $25 (Just nice Tuesday on offer)

Ente – Roast Duck @ $25 (Just nice Tuesday on offer)

 
Ente which was roasted duck on top of mashed potatos was not a bad dish to try out. The meat was very tender and not tough to eat at all.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Knuckle
 
Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0